Sloane Tour: All Sloane All the Time

DSC00176

Sneaky peeky!

I am so excited for this blog tour, friends. Like legitimately ecstatic. I had eyed the Love Notions Sloane (affil link) for a long time, but never made it. I don’t know why. Recently, Tami gave the pattern an update and I tested it. Ho. Lee. Cow. People. I love this pattern. I love, love, love it. I want to marry it. I want a closet full of Sloanes. I want to wear one everyday.  If you have made some in a large, please send them to me. 😉

Today I want to share two magnificent Sloanes with you to show you the versatility of the pattern. I have more! But, alas, I hurt my back and am headed out of town for a conference, so I don’t have them blog ready yet. Check back next week! I’ll have a fun little hack, a mommy/son Doctor Who set, and my spirit animal Sloane. Now, on to the pretties for this week!

The Sloane comes with lots of options: kangaroo pocket, hood or regular neckband, two body options (view A & B), two hem finishing options (curved hem (A) or banded (B)), and it even includes full bust pieces for those of you who need a FBA! Woot! Both of the Sloanes I am sharing with you today are view B. I made no modifications, except to shorten the sleeve slightly of the grey one. I have short arms. haha!

The first Sloane I made is as simple as they come. I made this one in testing. Just a simple, bang around, perfect for Fall sweatshirt. Made of a french terry/sweatshirt combo fabric. It’s soft. It has amazing drape. I want to cocoon myself in it and hibernate there until winter is over.  Look at my “I’m so happy I made this” face in the first picture. It’s true. I am so happy I made it. Even my husband is jealous of this awesome Sloane. (I told Tami we need a men’s version! haha!)

The next one I made for this tour. It’s the fancy, sassy cousin of my bang around sweatshirt. And I won’t lie to you, it is completely impractical for my life. But I don’t care. It’s glorious. I loves it.

DSC00206.jpg

Those sleeves are gonna get dunked in mac and cheese in about 5 minutes. Still love it.

DSC00170.jpg

Sassy and see-through. Because I have so many places to wear that. You know what? I don’t have anywhere to wear the tiara either. Doesn’t stop me.

I made this version out of a gorgeous open weave sweater knit from Simply by Ti.* It was my first time working with this type of knit and I’ll be honest, I was intimidated. But I had a vision and I was going to make it happen!

DSC00222

Vision achieved.

This look was pretty simple to achieve. It wasn’t simple to sew, but it was darn simple to create. I just added this fancy trim I found at JoAnn Fabrics to the sleeve hem and the shirt hem. I used black CL for the neckband. Done and done!

I’m going to admit something now. I didn’t intend to make the sleeves fancy. But the serger tried to give one sleeve a thumbhole. That was not helpful. So I had to do something. Mistake crafting (that’s my special name for most-of-Caroline’s-creations-are-the-product-of-fixing-some-error) to the rescue! Fancy trim cuff. Boom.

This sweater knit is so gorgeous and SO SOFT. It’s like wearing a cloud made of bunnies. I won’t lie to you. I’ve gotta be gentle with this top. It’s a little delicate. Not because it’s poor quality – not at all! It’s just the nature of this kind of weave. You don’t want to wear it near a rose bush. haha! But it is absolutely delicious, and really was not as scary to sew with as I anticipated. I do suggest reinforcing the seams and sewing with patience. Play your meditation music. 😉 I’m delighted with how the top came out. And I can’t wait to show you the other Sloanes I am working on! They all make me so happy.

DSC00256

I’m teaching my son to sew. (He’s doing really well. I’m so impressed!) He wanted to help me with this blog, so he took all the pictures of the sweater knit Sloane. Didn’t he do a great job??? 🙂 I’m a proud mama! But he did insist that I do one picture with a “silly pose”. He told me to be a weeping angel (link for the non-Doctor Who fans out there). I think Tyra Banks would give me the thumbs up on my interpretation. 😉

Make sure you check out the awesome creations coming at you for the rest of the blog tour! And check back here next week for the other Sloanes I have to show you! 🙂 Thanks for stopping by!
sloane.png

*I am a fabric ambassador for Simply by Ti and received this fabric at a discount. The opinions expressed about the fabric are honest and are my own.
8 thoughts on “Sloane Tour: All Sloane All the Time

  1. Wendy Drew says:

    I love, love, love!!! the ruffle!!! The sleeve fix is called a ‘design opportunity’ in the quilting world and often times results in the most beautiful creations as demonstrated by your sleeve ruffle.

    Like

    • Thank you so much! I’m so happy he’s excited about sewing. It’s not only a special thing to share, but it’s such a beneficial activity and skill. I look forward to seeing if he continues to show an interest. Right now he is super excited. I hope your son wants to learn to sew, too! 🙂 We’re having fun!

      Like

Leave a Reply

