Love Notions Terra Tunic (Maternity Style)

It’s rare that I say this, but I’m pretty proud of my Terra tunic (affil link).

img_4027

Fit pic from testing. I haven’t been able to get a better one yet. Quality pics coming soon! 

I regularly test for Love Notions. It is a privilege that I feel very lucky to have. And I love it, truly. Because I test regularly, I knew this pattern test was coming up and I was so excited to try it. But I had a death in the family when the actual test occurred, so I didn’t think I’d be able to participate. All I wanted to do when I came home from the looooooooooonnnnnnnnngggggggg trek out of state for the funeral services, was to sew this tunic. I was longing for the dependability of the testing experience. Tami (designer for LN) was kind enough to let me jump in. I am so grateful. It was a positive way to work through my grief, and it kept my mind busy with creativity when I just wanted to curl up in a ball and hibernate. For that alone, I will always love this top.

I also love it because I’m proud I made the modifications successfully. No, they weren’t particularly hard, but they were a challenge for my pregnant, sad, grad school drained brain. I’m proud that I’ve learned enough in the last year to figure out how to make an alteration like this. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to make the modifications happen, and it was touch and go there a couple times…but, lo and behold, I did! The sewing gods were with me! And, dear readers, you know I had some sweater knit in my hand to try for this tunic. It’s true. I told you I never remember. But then I thought to myself, “NO. I have told the internet of my sweater knit testing curse. Do not use sweater knit again.” And for once, I listened to myself.  I used a deliciously soft and drapey french terry from So Sew English instead (with a faux microsuede accent). It’s SSSSSSOOOOOOOOOOO soft. I to wrap myself in it like a cocoon and never come out.

The mods:

I can’t say these are what will work best for everybody, but it worked for me and my body. (I’m going to add some pics shortly.)

On the front piece, I graded out from my normal XL to XXXL. I started the grade out just under the bust, reaching the max size at the waist, and then graded back to XXL at the hip (I have no hips). I curved the line slightly, so it was kind of belly shaped.

On the back piece, I graded from my usual XL to XXL. I started the grade out almost immediately at the bottom of the armscye. I often need a swayback adjustment and figured grading up a size would help accommodate for that and for the watermelon sized baggage in my front that will pull the fabric.

I’m thrilled with how it came out. I DID NOT lengthen the pattern (except for lengthening slightly at the bust line, according to my measurements). I really should have, but honestly, I was just tired and pregnant and didn’t feel like it.

Love Notions Terra Tunic (affil link)

Features/options:

  • multiple sleeve lengths (short, elbow, 3/4, long)
  • multiple neckline options (v-neck, boat neck, funnel neck, asymmetrical (which is what I did), scoop, and v-neck hood)
  • optional elbow patches
  • optional welt pockets (pockets!!!!!)
  • layers
  • trimless pages
  • AO included
  • This pattern is for knit fabric at least 25% stretch. French terry, brushed poly, cotton lycra, and sweater knit all worked well for testers.

Pros:

  • Construction is great.
  • This is a pretty simple, easy pattern to sew with a polished looking end result.
  • Love the length – great with leggings or skinny jeans and easily shortened or lengthened.
  • LOVE the fit.

Cons:

  • I don’t know…I can’t honestly think of any.

Overall, I give the Terra Tunic (affil link) two happy, enthusiastic thumbs up. I highly suggest it! I’m not going to make more right now because of aforementioned watermelon belly, but I will DEFINITELY make more in the future. It’s simple and elegant, but it’s a basic, everyday pattern that you can get so much use out of. I plan to take this one in a bit at the side seams and probably cut and band or re-hem at the bottom post-partum. Go get yours!

Leave a Reply

