Greenstyle Sybil Robe

dsc01343-1

Look at that wind effect!

Don’t let the name fool you. This pattern can be SO MUCH MORE than a robe. (But it also makes an awesome robe.)

I was lucky enough to test this lovely new pattern from Greenstyle. I love testing. I like helping designers and I like being a part of the process. I also like having a deadline  – it helps my poor grad school, pregnancy, overwhelmed little brain focus on sewing. 🙂 Somehow, even though I have been kicked in the teeth by this before, I ended up using a thin sweater knit for this test. And though I love the color and the feel of the fabric, sewing with it made me want to stab myself in the eyeball with a fork. It’s like I have some kind of sewing amnesia. I have fought some devil fabric during tests before. And I’ll be honest, the devil fabric wins…or maybe it’s a tie, but either way, I come out cursing like a pirate and throwing things and swearing I’ll never sew anything again and looking up how much I can get for my sewing machine on eBay.  Stupid sewing amnesia. No more mystery thin sweater knits during testing! (Wait…in a few more blogs, I’ll post about sewing with a mystery thin sweater knit for a test. I never learn.) My battle with this thin mystery sweater knit was not as epic as some, but I did have to put my creation in time out for several days after completing it. It needed to think about what it had done. And I needed to eat some cookies and calm myself before putting it on again, so I could look at it objectively.

Onto the Sybil. This is the second Sybil sewing pattern love in my life. My first is the Love Notions Sybil skirt (affil link), incidentally the first pattern I ever tested. I love that collection to pieces. And I love the Greenstyle Sybil robe nearly as much. It has several options. View A is a straight bodice with several ties down the front that creates a lovely vintage robe look. View B is a crossover bodice (this is the one I did). It also has multiple sleeve lengths. And it is so very awesomely hackable. (I think I made that word up. It’s mine now. You can’t have it.) 😉

dsc01348-1

Side view. Hello belly! (And I appear to have been slightly off-balance.)

I tested the 2XL size in the crossover bodice. (For reference, I’m wearing a long sleeve shirt underneath in these pictures, so there’s plenty of room for layering.) I left a raw hem because evil mystery thin sweater knit deemed it so. Also, I liked how it looked. Let’s just say I planned it that way, okay? 😉 I also did a decorative band on the sleeves instead of hemming. I shortened the bodice by about 2 inches to give space for my growing 5+ month pregnant belly. I also did a button instead of a tie sash for the crossover. I’m happy with it, but will probably raise the bodice another 1/2 – 1″ next time I make it. I will say that I was pretty grumpy after finishing this because the fabric gave me such fits. But as soon as I put it on my husband beamed and exclaimed that he loved it.

 

 

Greenstyle Sybil Robe: The Rundown

  • Size range: XXS – 3XL
  • Fabric needed: about 2 yards (depending on size and length)
  • Recommended fabric: knit fabric with 20% stretch – scuba, ITY, cotton lycra, french terry, etc.

Pros: 

  • Different bodice views and sleeve options for versatility
  • Comfortable AND fashionable. I’m kind of a I-want-to-look-g0od-and-feel-like-I’m-in-my-PJs kind of girl. This totally fits the bill.
  • Versatile with a capital V. I love a pattern that inspires me. And this one definitely does. I look at it and just see possibilities. I love the pattern as is, don’t get me wrong, but I also love knowing that I get a lot of bang for my buck. Testers did all kinds of hacks (I even did a little one) and they were all awesome. Plus, you can use a variety of fabrics: sweater knit, cotton lycra, micro fleece, fleece, brushed poly, etc.
  • Princess seaming in bodice. This is a personal pro – it’s just one of my favorite things in a pattern. Princess seaming is just flattering. The end.
  • Maternity friendly!

Cons:

  • The gathering can be variable depending on your fabric, and gathering is not always the most flattering thing around your waist (if you have a waist like mine). I was grumpy with my aforementioned mystery thin sweater knit from hell when I went to all the trouble to do the gathering and you can barely see it in the finished product! But that’s the fabric, not the pattern. It’s just something to be aware of when choosing fabric for this pattern.
  • I’m not 100% happy with the fit I got in the armscye. I need to make it again in a different fabric to know whether this is something I need to do a pattern alteration for, or if it was just the evil mystery thing sweater knit from hell thumbing its nose at me.

Bottom line

For me and my body and my personal preference, I give this pattern two thumbs up.

I already have more planned for myself – a birthing robe, a sweater not made from evil mystery thin sweater knit, and maybe some french terry. I also have a cozy micro fleece version planned for my grandmother, who has be in a rehab facility for a few months after an injury.

Thanks for reading! If you haven’t tried it, I hope you enjoy the Sybil. If you have tried it, hooray! I hope you’re loving it!  🙂 Get the pattern here.

 

One thought on “Greenstyle Sybil Robe

  1. EEK… Totally adorable! Love how you made the robe into an awesome maternity blouse/sweater. I also love the name of your new blog and I’m looking forward to reading about all your sewing adventures along with keeping up with the growing family. Miss you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

